Production

Scan-andy2.jpeg

With my finally image sketched out I scanned and the brought it into illustrator so I can begin to create my final piece.

In illustrator I used the Pen tool and the Anchor point tool to create the outline from the drawing I had scanned in. When creating this piece I wanted to keep everything tidy, clean and easy to find so if I needed to change anything I could easily find the layer with that specific part on. For the start I just used my mouse as it was the simplest and quickest way to make thesis curved lines. When I finished the outline and looked at it I didn’t like it. I wanted more of a handmade, sketch look to it like in Ian Jepson’s work, so I decide to start over in photoshop and use the wacom tablet as my experiments shown that i will achieve the look I want through this.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 16.57.45.png

I brought the sketch into photoshop where I added a few more details onto the sketch, just so what direction the hair will go in and what some shadows will look like. I then created a brush that would give me the effect I wanted. I choose a round point pen as this gives it more of a hand drawn feel, unlike a ‘hard round 30’ brush which would give it a more mechanical feel.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 17.14.57.png

I created a outline of my drawing from the sketch. I am really impressed with how it turned out. I like the fact that the lines aren’t perfectly straight and some lines are thicker  than others. I also added details in that weren’t in my original sketch. From the wires to the buttons, I did this to give it that more robotic, mechanical look.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 17.29.30.png

The next step for me was adding shadows to my drawing. The shadow are really important because it give the image some greater detail and depth to it. With the shadows I want to add them in like they do it comic books. I really like this style and new it would work with my design. I had perviously looked at work by Charles Burns and thought his style would work well with my work.Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 17.59.33.png

I also kept everything on separate layers so I could go back and edit certain bits if I needed to.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 18.00.25.png

Next was choosing a colour palette I had already decided on not using black or white thats why I choose a dark green when making the outline and shadows. i wanted a basic colour palette that would compliment each other. I have also been looking at work by other people and seeing what colours they used.Colour Pallete.jpg

I am really happy with the colours I have chosen. I think the peach and the red will work well for the face and hair, and the blue and yellow will work well for the mechanical parts of the drawing.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 18.26.26.png

I am happy with how my piece looks but I don’t like it on the white background I think it will look better with a coloured background. The shape of my piece goes off to the left to make it more structural I think a shape or a pattern behind it will bring the piece together nicely.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 20.02.50.png

I really like the circle shape behind the image I think it brings the image together more. It adds some structure to image, and makes it look more cohesive.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 20.03.13.png

When I was choosing a back ground colour I tried the colours that I had used on my image but it didn’t work it was to overbearing. So I started to play around with different colours, it was hard to find a colour that went with the 5 colours so I choses to do something thats off white. I choses the off white yellow colour (fdfecd) because it went with all the different colours and complimented the skin colour.

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 20.05.12.png

While creating this image I was keeping all my layers organised and in folders. This was really helpful when going back and editing bits of the image.

Leave a Reply

